Comprehensive spending review

After your tea of cauliflower cheese

We count out blueberries

You say “that’s eight blueberries”

I say “it’s five” and we both laugh

And share a banana

And a muffin with fluorescent pink cherries

That i’m sure are not good for you

And have hugs on the sofa

I read you bedtime stories after your bath and

While you sleep I wonder where

We will end up and whether my plans will

Bear fruit after the news of this

Comprehensive spending review?

I can’t sleep.

Leave a Reply

