I was a fifteen year old Feminist

At six, I told the boys “I am Peter Pan”

They wanted me to be Wendy

At ten, I told the boys “I am Han Solo”

They wanted me to be Princess Leia

~

I was a fifteen year old feminist

“I’m not your love”

“I’m not called Miss”

I wore big boots

Not white stilettos

I was not a “germ-free adolescent”

~

At nineteen, I told the boys “I am going to DJ”

I am noone’s jockey slut

At thirtyfour, I told him “I will not follow you”

And watch my life become a rut

~

I am a forty year old feminist

I don’t mind the “love”

But I’m Ms not “Mrs”

I am a mother

A poet, a writer

For womens’ rights I’m still a fighter.

In celebration of International Womens’ Day 2011

Entered in One Shot Wednesday for One Stop Poetry

18 thoughts on “I was a fifteen year old Feminist

  1. I fought for years with myself what to jot down in the Miss Mrs Ms boxes. Being single then married it still infuriates me what to tick off. A Mr is a Mr no matter what age, I wish they would just get rid of Miss and Mrs and do the same. Thank God for the women who have/had the courage to fight for us.

  2. Greetings!

    Thanks for the lovely contribution to potluck on week 25,

    week 26 is open NOW, we treasury your poetry

    and welcome you in in your personal convenience…old poems are welcome!

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

