School’s Out! (til next week…)

All of a sudden I have my degree result, am buying books for my MA, trying to get childcare in place so I can attend the course induction, and most importantly, settling my son into school.

After a great start he changed his mind, and decided he didn’t fancy going any more: “Send the uniform back Mum, I don’t want to wear it. I want to stay here with you.”

So I have had to play a chess game of feigned nonchalance and checkmate moves to cajole, guide and persuade my poor boy to school each day. There have been improvements over the last week- he can now put his uniform on by himself, and is starting to settle into the new routine. The walk/scoot to school is still accompanied by the mantra of “I don’t want to go to school” but today there is noticeably less repetition. He has been bouncing out the other end at 3.15 telling me it was “brilliant”, so I am not worrying too much.

My plans of ebaying and decluttering went to the wall (of course) amidst dealing with the administration concerned with the MA I am about to begin in creative writing. The reading list for one of the modules I am taking is long on heavy-duty critical theory- I can’t wait.

Last friday when I was able to log on and find out my degree result I sat shaking in front of my lap top for at least a couple of hours. I always dreamed of getting a first but had let go of it after being so poorly and finding the juggling of everything so intense and tricky to get all the work done in my final year. But I did it! I got a first class degree. As a single parent. I floated around the rest of the day, supremely happy. I feel very lucky to have had the chance to do it. It’s been tough and fantastic in equal amounts.

Now it’s back to work…

4 thoughts on “School’s Out! (til next week…)

  1. You must be so proud of yourself my love- your first is an incredible achievement and so well deserved. 🙂

    And little sam will adjust in time- it sounds like he’s forgetting how much he doesn’t like it once he’s there. 🙂 xx

  2. As a single parent who hasn’t found time to pay the phone bill in over a week (it takes a phone call) when they are threatening to cut me off because it’s late – I want to say that you are amazing! Enjoy the MA, I’d love to do that one.

Leave a Reply

