writingwomendotorg

 

 

 

 

 

I have been thinking in verse this week (as a way in to thinking about prose) about women and writing and here’s what came out.

 

 

 

Naming the animals

I have thought of silence for some time now,

imagined the space between us

disappear inch by inch,

or expand in exponents settling

at the average human distance:

abyss.  I like the sudden drop

when I turn off the street, shut my door

the squeal light bulbs make when even the cat

is sleeping.  But today I heard the sound of falling.

The quiet that followed the bite of the apple,

the slip out the gate

that gap before Adam first shouted her name.

View original post

Leave a Reply

