More about #SmallStone

I started the #smallstone project on the 3rd January this year, after seeing a couple of friends had decided to write a small poem every day as part of Writing Our Way Home’s Mindful Writing Challenge. I managed to write one every day after that and was surprised to find I had quite a large collection of lines of poetry by the end of the month.

The idea was to notice something every day and write about it, as a way of being mindful, (for more details see here) but I found myself writing a line or two, aor a sequence of words, which summed up my day in some way. Some of these are literal, e.g. events on the way to and from the school run. However they have also described feelings and memories in more abstract lines, and I wonder if this moves some of the ‘small stones’ away from their original intent, although I understand them, so maybe it’s ok.

It has certainly helped me to feel more rooted in each day and consider what has made an impact on me. I have found myself wondering if what is happening at that present moment will be the ‘small stone’ for that day.

Like any writing exercise it has also been great for flexing some creative muscle, so I’m going to see if I can keep it going for February…

One thought on “More about #SmallStone

Leave a Reply

