“Paradise haunts gardens…” Derek Jarman

I have no idea how long I have been thinking about going to see Derek Jarman’s garden- but it’s probably more than the twenty years since he died. I finally made it last Wednesday; drove from Rye, where we were staying for half term, on a persistently drizzly and grey day, through the marshes and strange flatness of Camber and Lydd. Across the pylon-plotted horizon with the odd caravan park nestling by their giant electric feet. And then without knowing until I saw it, there, a yellow framed, black stained timber building loomed into view through the mist and rain-spattered windscreen of my car.

There!

With the BBC film crew van tucked into the side of the narrow road between the stretch of shingle and few houses, there on the right hand side, the garden. Here are some grey rainy shots of Jarman’s garden as it is now, twenty years after he died. As far as I know the house is owned by someone new but obviously aware and respectful of the legacy, and the garden remains. Below is a short film made by BBC Gardeners’ World in the first few years after Jarman passed on, where his partner is interviewed and talks about the garden, and which includes quotes from Jarman’s book…. now I have to go back when the weather is better in the Spring. Dungeness is magickal and it is easy to understand why he settled there.

DSC01353 ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? DSC01344 DSC01343 DSC01342 ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? DSC01338 DSC01337 ??????????????????????????????? DSC01335 DSC01332 DSC01331 ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? DSC01326 ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? DSC01319 DSC01317 DSC01316 DSC01315 ??????????????????????????????? DSC01313 DSC01312 DSC01310 DSC01309 DSC01308 DSC01304 ??????????????????????????????? DSC01302

One thought on ““Paradise haunts gardens…” Derek Jarman

  1. I don’t know this person but understand how meaningful it is, to visit a place our minds have been set on. I’m so glad you derived as much pleasure out of it as you hoped. You might recall I garden in southern Manitoba (central Canada). How are you Lucy? My birthday is November 18th! I am in need of light-heartedness and a very good time.

    I don’t think you’ve seen my news. One of our young cats died for no reason (natural cause). I’m traumatized by it and was astounded not to be inundated with condolences (at my blog, where I’ll see and cherish them). Hearing people understand “cat” = “son&daughter” to me, is very healing. Despite only living 4 years, I want people to know our sweet boy. A community is for lifting people up, so I’m reaching out to mine. I’m much better but had to try again because a cricket response hasn’t sat well with me. I’m explaining I WANT to hear from people and it’s a way to rekindle too. My post is here. Gratefully, Carolyn. http://cmriedel.wordpress.com/2014/09/02/loveyandthreesiblings/

Leave a Reply

